Math Work Stations

We started our Math Work Stations today and I thought I would share some pictures of them for you.  Don’t forget that you can purchase the entire year’s worth of Math Work Station ideas over on my Kristen’s Kindergarten Store blog

 

DSC00036

Math Journal Work Station–the children are cutting numbers and shapes out of magazines and gluing them into their Math Journals. 

 

DSC00037

Math Games/Puzzles–the children match the number, number word, and a picture showing that quantity. 

 

DSC00038

Geo-board Work Station–the children make shapes using the Geo boards and Geo bands. 

 

DSC00040

Math Library Work Station–the children look at math related books (this area is separate from the Library Work Station to keep them unconfused) 

 

DSC00041

Math Listening Work  Station–5 Little Monkeys

 

DSC00042

Play dough Math Station–making shapes with play dough

 

DSC00044

Math Overhead Station–the children have pattern blocks, tiles, and numbers to use on the overhead

 

DSC00045

Math Magnet Work Station–the children can make shapes with magnetic shapes/pattern blocks

 

DSC00046

Math Manipulatives Station–the children are currently tracing shapes…there will be manipulatives in this station in the future! 🙂

 

DSC00047

Computer Work Station–the children are using Bailey’s Book House

 

DSC00048

Math Box Work Station–“Shapes” box by Lakeshore…the children spin the spinner and add a shape to their card. 

 

DSC00049

Roll A… this will change bi-weekly, right now it’s Roll A Shape.

Let me know if you have questions! 😉

Kristen 🙂

About Kristen Poindexter

I am the 2014 National Shell Science Teacher, 2014 PAEMST Awardee for Science, and a Kindergarten teacher who blogs about my adventures in teaching!

Posted on August 31, 2009, in Math Work Stations. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I absolutely love the ideas for math centers. This is my first year in Kinder. and I have always been a fan of centers in other grades. My big question is, how do you get the kids to do the stations? I mean, it would take a lot of time to teach the kids how to use all these different stations, and I wouldn’t think that it would be possible to teach all of them on one day…but how do you get the whole thing set up so that every child (I have 27) has something to do at the same time from the very beginning?

    Thanks for the site, I’m a new reader and I’ve gotten a lot of great ideas!

    Like

    • kristenskreations

      I introduce math stations one at a time, over a 2 week period. I only need two weeks because I have 24 children to place in 14 stations (give or take a few depending upon the theme that month). During our math time the two weeks I introduce this, we spend 20 or so of them exploring the big tubs of manipulatives that I have (links, unifix cubes, pattern blocks, etc.) and then we spend 10-15 more learning about how to use a new tub. For example, when I showed my students how to use the Math Overhead Work Station, I called them all over to sit near the overhead and then I placed the various materials on the overhead, demonstrated how to use them, and showed how to clean them up and put everything away.

      The next day, we do the same thing, except introducing a new station…until 2 weeks have gone by and then we take one day to quickly review what we do at each station and then off they go! My assistant and I walk around constantly, answering questions, praising correct use of the materials, and then we clean up.

      Kristen 🙂

      Like

      • ingrid Williams

        I really have been enjoying your website. I was wondering how you send children to these centers. Do you have them work at a certain center per day or is it a free pick thing. Is the idea to get each student to each station eventually? How many kids per station?

        Thanks
        Ingrid

        Like

      • kristenskreations

        Hi Ingrid,
        I send two children to a station at a time. We usually do these centers 20 minutes a day depending upon what else we have going on. I do not do the work stations everyday…the children just can’t handle it! 🙂

        Kristen 🙂

        Like

  2. I am trying to find your math work stations that can be purchased. I know I may be overlooking it but am not having any luck. Any suggestions?

    Like

    • kristenskreations

      Hi Mandy,
      I have taken them down for some revision work and hope to have them posted again soon! 🙂

      Thanks for your patience!

      Kristen 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment